Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
malna_gw

Letting Marginal Garlic Go to Bulbils?

malna
9 years ago

Last fall, I bought two varieties of garlic (Chesnok Red and Killarney Red) from a well-known garlic farm in Washington. Note: I'm not dissing the place I bought it. Gardening stuff happens.

So this spring, only one Chesnok Red sprouted and didn't make it much past April. I got 100% sprouting of the Killarney Red, but they are looking pretty meager. My German Extra Hardy (that I've been growing from my own stock for four or five years now) and Music (purchased from a local grower) look fabulous, so I don't think it's my growing technique, weather, fertilizer, water, etc...

What I decided to do is let most of the Killarney Red scapes go to bulbils and see if I can cultivate a NJ-friendly strain to increase my seed stock in a few years. Frankly, I can't afford to invest more money buying garlic stock online. I cut my German Extra Hardy back (we ate more rather than replanting :-) to make room for the two new varieties. I shall be running out of garlic way earlier than I usually do - oh, well.

Has anyone had success with getting good stock from "marginal" garlic (meaning "marginal" as it probably wasn't acclimated to my growing conditions - NOT meaning "marginal" from the supplier's stock)?

Comments (5)

• mav72
    9 years ago

Actually I'm trying to do the same as you right now... I had a couple of my red Chinese softnecks bolt this year (they usually don't) and have a few bilbils. Most of the harvest was tiny BUT I did get a couple of good sized bulbs which is making me rethink if I should grow out the bulbils. I have some ajo rojo and sanoran growing from bulbils right now but they still need another year to grow. They'r doing pretty well though..

I've read that growing from bulbils can rejuvenate your stock.