Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wertach2

Funny thing happened with some scapes I cut.

I had too many scapes to use and just laid them in a bowl for later. The seed heads have opened up! I cut the ends off and stuck them in a glass of water this morning.

What now? I'm thinking of putting them in some perlite and see what happens. I have read that it takes years "IF" the seed sprout.

Comments (25)

• jolj
    11 years ago

I had more scapes then I could use, it is my first year using them. Some of the heads opened up. I composted them, thinking they were to green to make seeds.
    Please let us know what yours do.

• Mark
    11 years ago

Ok, for starters GARLIC DOES NOT MAKE SEEDS!

A scape, if left on the plant will sometimes make a little group of bulbs which are not seeds, but clones. Remember your biology. To make seeds you first must have a flower with pollen etc....

The little bulbs, if they mature on the plant, can be saved and planted in the fall a few inches from each other. Keep them well weeded and the following summer you will harvest small, single clove garlic heads. These you can either eat, or plant again and they will make normal garlic heads, with multiple cloves in them.

Hope this clarifies things a bit.

• wertach zone 7-B SC
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm no biologist, and I don't want to argue. But the website below disagrees with you.

Here is a link that might be useful: Garlic from seed

• gemini_jim
    11 years ago

As the article says, under special conditions in certain varieties true seed has been produced. But for practical purposes and for most varieties it is true that garlic does not make seeds. The flowering heads usually contain bulbils and may contain flowers, but those flowers are usually sterile or fail to develop seeds.