Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimster_gw

How big will these onions get?

jimster
18 years ago

This is my first time growing onions from seed. Due to some glitches last winter when I was starting the seeds in pots, I had to start over. So the plants were not set out very early and were small.

At the point they are growing OK, but have developed a maximum of four or five leaves and are still pretty small. I understand that onions should develop 13 leaves to attain large size. Also, days will now be getting shorter, which I guess will cause bulbing before they get large.

My question is, do I stand a chance of getting large onions this year?

Jim

Comments (16)

• ksrogers
    18 years ago

Not sure if it will help, but I am currently using foliar sprays on my onions, garlic, shallots, and chives. I planted some purplette onion seeds back the middle of May, and these are still very small with single green shoots. The nearby potato onions were planted as small onions and are doubling and tripling in the soil, with many leaves now. The purplettes were supposed to be 60-80 day onions, but because they are still very small, I doubt if they will reach any decent size this year. As to shallots, I planted both seeds in one area and small bulbs in another. The seeds bearly sprouted and nothing has come of them since the weeds took over. The bulb shallots are doubling and tripling though. So the point is, seeds don't usually grow as wel (or as fast)l bulbs as far as my experiences. My garlic is all 'de-scaped' and is getting nice big leaves, and any onions I have are doing well if they were planted as bulbs as opposed to seeds.

• jimster
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I really want to learn to grow onions from seed, varieties such as Wethersfield Red, Southport White Globe and White Portugal. My second try this year worked well, except for being too late I think. We'll see how large they get (probably not large) and have another go at it next year.

Jim

• mindsmile