Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunshinezone7

Need help with identifying my garlic

SunshineZone7
10 years ago

I planted garlic for the first time this fall. I bought organic garlic from Whole Foods. How do I know if it was soft neck or hard neck? I know, I am a rookie! Here are some pics.

Comments (15)

• SunshineZone7
    Original Author
    10 years ago

close up

• SunshineZone7
    Original Author
    10 years ago

that one part is brown, is that bad?

• aloha10
    10 years ago

Most store bought Garlic is soft neck. These varieities store well and make more sense from a marketing point of view. My advice is to wait until harvesting to answer your question. You will harvest, likely in July, when about 1/3 of the leaves turn brown. Just examine the necks to determine hard or soft necked designation. Your browning in the photo is a normal part of the maturing process. There are many great entries on this site which will provide you information on how to dry,clean and store your Garlic. Right now, everything looks fine. Bon Appetit.

• Garylane
    10 years ago

The ones that are sending up the scape in the pictures are a hardneck for sure. you should break them off for a bigger bulb.
    Gary

• SunshineZone7
    Original Author
    10 years ago

You are sure they are hard neck? How can you tell?

How do I "break them off?" Can I eat them?

• wolverine1012
    10 years ago

You can tell it is hardneck garlic because soft neck do not produce scapes. And yes, you can eat the scapes. In fact, they are considered a delicacy by some. Just follow the scapes down to where it meets the top leaf and cut it with a knife or you pruners.

• AiliDeSpain
    10 years ago

I have read that soft necks sometimes also produce scapes. Those scapes don't look like the hardneck scapes I have seen. Unless they are really old scapes that curled once and have now straightened?

• planatus
    10 years ago