Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smrfberry

Garlic cloves forming above ground?

smrfberry
14 years ago

This is my first time growing garlic. I just bought some bulbs from the grocery store and put the cloves in the ground back in fall. Today I noticed that two of my stalks have what looks like garlic cloves forming ABOVE ground? On one of them it is right above ground level and on another one it is about 2 inches above ground level. I thought maybe they weren't planted deep enough but I don't know why one of them would form 2 inches above ground on the stalk if that was the case. I'll upload pictures if I can figure out how. This really confused me because I thought the cloves formed below ground? I couldn't find any other postings that talked about something similar. Does anyone know what this is?

Comments (9)

• smrfberry
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Here are some pictures of the two stalks:

right above ground: http://twitpic.com/6rzdy
    a couple of inches above ground: http://twitpic.com/6rzh6

• korney19
    14 years ago

Are you growing them amongst onions? The leaves in the background of the 2nd pic look hollow like onion or shallot leaves, whereas garlic leaves are flat or cupped.

Also, how deep did you plant them?

• dkmarsh
    14 years ago

This happened to me a couple years back. It's occasionally manifested in certain softneck varieties after unusually cold winters. Scroll down to "Softneck varieties" on the page linked to below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing Garlic in Minnesota

• smrfberry
    Original Author
    14 years ago

korney19: Yes, I'm growing them amongst onions. I planted them about 2 inches deep. I did some careful digging and there is also a regular bulb a couple of inches in the soil, so the pictures I posted are of a second bulb on the stalk.