Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iowajer

First time garlic grower has a question...

iowajer
10 years ago

Hi,

I planted two varieties of soft-neck garlic on 10/23/12; Siciliano and Inchelium Red.

I have zero experience with garlic, and don't know what I should do about this, if anything...

I'm seeing bulbs show up along the stalks in a few of them. Some are near the top like this:

{{gwi:75814}}

And some are in the middle like this:

{{gwi:75815}}

And some are at soil level like this:

{{gwi:75816}}

I assume these above ground bulb things are robbing the bulb of some growth potential, but I don't think it's time to dig the garlic up yet. I mean I don't see a lot of brown leaves.

Can anyone tell me what I am supposed to do, or if I am supposed to do anything at all?

Thanks,

Jerry

Comments (9)

• gardengirl37232
    10 years ago

No, it's not time to dig up the bulbs yet. Those are not bulbs above ground. They are bulbils growing on a garlic scape. Some believe cutting off the scape directs more energy to bulb formation; others think it doesn't matter. You can cut off the scape now if you want. The garlic bulb is below ground. It will probably be at least 3 weeks before your garlic will be ready.

• iowajer
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you GG for the prompt reply!

It sounds like my garlic can survive if I do nothing, so since I'm reluctant to do anything that may have a bad outcome I think I'll just leave well enough alone, and wait the 3 weeks or so to dig any up.

Thanks again!

• Mark
    10 years ago

Hey, that garlic looks great!

I would cut/break off the ones forming on the top and not worry about the ones in the middle of the stems or at the base. The one on the top is a garlic scape like the kinds that usually form on hardneck garlics. They are great to eat and will sap energy from the bulb if left to grow and mature.