Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aypcarson

Help...late to harvest garlic!

aypcarson
18 years ago

This is my first attempt at growing garlic. I planted the cloves last fall and they did beautifully all season. Of course, while I was away for two weeks, the leaves all browned out and now there is nothing above ground. Can I still harvest them and how do I cure them since there are no leaves? Another question...do you use the cloves from this year's harvest for next year's crop or can you use cloves from last year?

Comments (13)

• Nelz
    18 years ago

Carefully use a garden fork to lift the soil and pluck the bulbs. Cure them on a flat surface out of the sun. A screen or something that allows airflow like that would be best, but if all you have is a board or cardboard, use that and rotate the garlic every few days. At least for the first week or 2.

On a down side, some of the bulbs may be rotted, or may be beginning to rot, so your harvest will be hit and miss.

Good Luck!

As for saving this years bulbs and selecting cloves to plant in the fall for your next crop, you are right on the money. Use the biggest bulbs, and select the biggest cloves. Don't pop the cloves off until planting time in the fall though.

We are in the process of putting up a FAQ section so you can check that later to find out more about how to determine when to harvest. Or we can give you that info later in a thread, but I'm a bit pressed for time right now.

• mindsmile
    18 years ago

southshoregardener
    Keep in mind any bulbs that you miss should overwinter and pop up as spring garlic next spring,some may even pop up this fall.You can in spring with these also just seperate the cloves and replant them(the larger cloves and eat the rest) at the proper distance apart and probably will get close to full size bulbs from them next July.
    Bill

• sharon_sd
    18 years ago