Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chau_ya

What are these SMALL ones ? Help!

chau_ya
18 years ago

Hi all,

This is my first year growing garlics. I just harvested my elephant garlics and I saw some tiny ones attached to the big bulb. Please help me to understand what those are (refer to my picture)(the small ones on the righthand side of the picture). Do they have any values in terms of re-planting for the next season (this coming Fall)?

Thanks for helping me.

Regards.

Chau_ya.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (21)

• gardenlad
    18 years ago

Chau_ya, those are called "korms." You can save them and replant them. But there are a couple of caveats; not the least of them being that it's at least a two year process before they produce full-sized heads.

Normally the korms have very hard shell-like wrappers, and it takes special handling to get them to germinate.

• chau_ya
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hello Gardenlady,

Thanks for the info of 'korms'. You've helped add to my vocabulary one more word. :)

OK, so at least 2 years to get to normal size.. Please go ahead and show me what is the special thing I need to do for them to germinate.

Have a good one.
    Chau_ya

• Nelz
    18 years ago

Gardenlady?

chau_ya, I have grown korms before. First time I tried them I planted them in the fall with the rest of the garlic. I did not see them come up in spring, so I figured they were done. Well, come along July and garlic harvest time, aren't there little sprouts where I planted the korms. I left them in, and by the end of the summer I had what was about the size of a large green onion.

The next time I waited until EARLY spring and soaked the korm over night, then nicked the skin with a knife, before planting. It took a few weeks, but it came up, and by garlic harvest it was a reasonably sized plant. The 'bulb' was almost the size of a ping pong ball. Actually it is called a round, or rounder. It is essentially one large clove.