Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wolverine1012

Harvest questions

wolverine1012
12 years ago

I have been gardening for over 30 years but just this year got into onions and garlic in a big way and have a bunch of questions:

Onions

1. Some (of the same variety) have thin necks and some thick. Why? Do I handle them differently?

2. Some have a black smut under the first skin. It wipes off easily. What does it mean? How do I prevent?

3. After curing on a cement (covered) porch, some have soft spots under the first layer on one side. Why? Will they still keep?

4. What is the preferred harvesting process step by step?

Anyone want to take a stab at any or all of these questions?

Comments (6)

• Mark
    12 years ago

I'll try to offer some help.
    1. Regardless of variety, there still lots of variation in onions, especially the open pollinated ones (non hybrid). As long as all the necks are well dried with no moisture, they should keep.
    2. The black stuff is a type of mildew, i've had it more some years than others, probably due to rain or overhead watering. It never seems to cause any problems other than superficial.
    3. Soft spots may be from the concrete but more likely are from bumping the onions during or after harvest or from sunscald in the field. I'd thing the best option is to eat them first as they probably won't keep all that well.

4. My onion harvest process is:
    1. stop watering at first fall.
    2. 50% down, kick the rest down.
    3. wait a week, dig onions.
    4. if weather permits, field cure for a week taking care not to sunscald onions.
    5. when tops are completely dry trim to about 1" and trim roots.
    6. cure in well ventilated, warm place for another 5 days (I use the greenhouse with a fan)
    7. store in dark, dry, cool conditions.

I just finished curing about 1000 lbs. of overwintering and the spring planted are just starting to fall.

Hope this helps!

• wolverine1012
    Original Author
    12 years ago