Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdgardengurl

Question about drying garlic and planting

mdgardengurl
17 years ago

I am just beginning to harvest my garlic. I have elephant garlic and regular garlic - variety unknown. I have so far only harvested 2 good heads of elephant garlic (just a few days ago) I rinsed off the bulbs and laid them out to dry inside. The stalks feel dry all the way to the bulb, but it's kinda hard to tell if they may still be wet inside, as the stalks are very hard. I do want to be able to save some of this garlic for replanting this fall. Whatever the regular garlic is, I don't intend to braid it. How long does garlic and elephant garlic need to be dried before it's safe to remove the stalks?

Another question....Some of the garlic that I already harvested has lost it's papery skin. Is this ok if I want to plant it this fall?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Comments (15)

• garliclady
    17 years ago

Im sure some people will have other advice but here on our garlic farm we cut our garlic off the stalk right after we harvest and then let them cure in racks . We have done this for seven years and have never seen any adverse affects. Your rounds or solids elephant will keep as long as the heads. The elephant that has lost its papery skin will keep fine.

• gardenlad
    17 years ago

MDGardenGurl, it's obvious from your various quesitons that you are going to get very serious about garlic. That being the case, let me urge you to get a copy of Ron Engeland's book, "Growing Great Garlic." Although some of it is outdated, it remains the bible of garlic raising, and will be very helpful to you.

As to your specific question: Curing garlic on racks certainly works. But it's more the sort of thing a commercial grower like GarlicLady would do. Just like the commercial farms that harvest not by the visual signs, but by the calender.