Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david883_gw

Is my garlic ready for harvest?

david883
10 years ago

Hi everyone

This is my first time planting garlic. I received a few cloves last fall from a friend and planted them in the front of a raised bed sometime last November (maybe october... I can't remember now... I should write these things down). Bottom leaves are yellowing and all the top growth is starting to fall over (a few days ago they were all perfectly upright. I'm just wondering if its time to harvest. I'm not sure what specific variety these are, if they're hard or softneck or anything. Also, if it makes a difference, no scapes ever grew, either.

Thanks in advance for the advise

Comments (10)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago

No, they aren't ready yet. Your leaves are just barely starting to yellow so you'll probably have another week or two to wait. I harvest mine when the bottom few leaves are brown, not yellow.

And the fact that your plants didn't scape means that they are softnecks.

Rodney

• david883
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, Rodney. I figured they could use a little more time but I wanted to make sure. Thanks for the info on them being softnecks, too!

• planatus
    10 years ago

All garlic are not alike, and if they are softnecks I would dig one up and have a look. I grew some Silverskins this year that were very much ready when the first ones started falling over.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

As long as there are two or three green leaves, it means that garlic cloves are intact and have not broken the wrap. live leaves make strong wraps. That is why harvesting time has a window. So better to be a little early than too late.

This post was edited by seysonn on Tue, Jul 23, 13 at 6:01

• JayLai
    10 years ago

You can look at garlic from the top and from the bottom to figure out when you want to pull it.

Generally, it's when the first three leaves are completely dead that the bulb is fully formed.