Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
engk916

picture of ripe garlic stems?

engk916
14 years ago

this is my first year growing garlic, and i have no idea how i can tell that garlic is ripe. all the web site agree on only one thing - that figuring out when to pull garlic comes with experience, and the only indicator is brown leaves. that's where all the similarities end. some sites say to pull garlic when the leaves are 1/3 brown, others say 1/2 to 2/3rds brown. does anyone have a picture of what ripe garlic looks like? i'm in zone 6 and growing german extra hardy stiffneck garlic if that helps. tia!

Comments (13)

• engk916
    Original Author
    14 years ago

i pulled one today, and this is what it looks like (there's a quarter next to it if that helps). the skin has a lot of thin white papery layers, but i don't know if this is considered 'too young' to harvest.

{{gwi:366195}}

• wcthomas
    14 years ago

Each leaf extends underground to become a layer of wrapper around the cloves. As the leaves die off, so does its wrapper layer. If you allow all of the leaves to die (turn yellow/brown), then all of the wrappers layers will be gone and the cloves left exposed, subjecting them to potential rot and a shorter life. How many green leaves you want at harvest depends on how many layers of wrapper you want left after pulling. Different growers need different amounts of wrapper protection for the cloves, which is why you see so many different recommendations for when to harvest.