Return to the Allium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
after garlic harvest, another crop?

Posted by Lombill z5 Chicagoland (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 3, 12 at 23:32

I'm a newbie to planting garlic and I'm about ready to harvest. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to plant for the rest of the year in the space where the garlic grew? Is there a crop that might be good for the soil that I can have growing there that still has time to grow here in zone 5?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: after garlic harvest, another crop?

I plant just about any of my fall crops in the beds my garlic and onions grew in. Some of my favorites to follow garlc are cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, kale, collards, lettuce and spinach. I've occasionally planted fall root crops like carrots, winter storage radishes and turnips but those usually go in my spring lettuce beds after it's all been harvested.
It doesn't hurt to grow a short term cover crop like buckwheat in the bed before transplanting your fall crops. It keeps the soil weed free, makes a natural mulch to transplant into and adds organic matter back to the soil. Just make sure to cut the buckwheat down about the time it's in full bloom if you haven't already cut it and transplanted into it.

o

• Posted by jolj 7b/8a (My Page) on
    Thu, Jul 5, 12 at 0:39

Here in zone 7/8 we plant late beans too.

o

Thu, Jul 5, 12 at 0:40

o

o

o

o

o

o

o

I have read that buckwheat is good for growing garlic. I am going to give it a whirl this year. I believe cover crops keep the soil in better shape anyway.

o

I've never used it before garlic. I just use it after an early maturing crop to keep the soil covered until I plant late crops.