Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jopparich

What garlics to start with

JoppaRich
9 years ago

I grew some supermarket garlic this spring - it didn't get particularly big (planted in the spring, so I know why), but it grew pretty well.

I'm looking to do things right this year, and plant in the fall. I'm in Virginia, 7b, and I'm looking for an idea of what varieties to plant to start out and get an idea of what sort of flavors I like. I don't really have any experience with anything other than the standard supermarket stuff.

I'm going to order online, so pretty much anything is in. I want to grow a variety to get a good spread of typical flavors.

Any suggestions?

Comments (9)

• drmbear Cherry
    9 years ago

I'm also in Virginia, and I've been growing garlic for many years. I would say that your choices should be based on what's important to you. I grow lots of elephant garlic, because of the huge cloves and the fact that you can easily store it for over a year - a definite plus for ensuring you have year-round garlic. It's mild enough to be sliced thin on a sandwich or in a salad as is. Not many garlics are good like that. My other choices are based mostly on clove size - I prefer that the cloves be large, because I like using a lot of garlic and don't want to be peeling a bunch of tiny cloves. So some of my other varieties have huge heads and huge cloves - but I get a little dissapointed that they don't last as long as the EG. For others it may be about flavors, but maybe I'm just not as discriminating, though I'm aware that some is possible to add to recipes raw, and others are unbearable unless cooked.

• kristincarol
    9 years ago

I find that German Extra Hardy, a porcelain variety, will last for a year. You know that the Elephant Garlic is a leek and not a garlic? Flavor is not strong enough for most garlic lovers as well.

Take a look at what is available at a local farmer's market and get that kind.

• planatus
    9 years ago