Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nascent_bud

Guardsman Bunching Onions

Nascent_Bud
10 years ago

Hello,

I am new to gardening. To get my feet wet, I bought a pot of bunching onions about a month ago. They are Guardsman Bunching onions.

I read you can separate clumps of bunching onions or 'true scallions' and propagate from these clumps. (Though, I'm not sure what a clump is exactly: a huge clump of dirt with roots, or lots and lots of scallions attached to a big ball of dirt?).

Anyway, my main question is based around the annual life of Guardsman Bunching Onions. Does this mean that I cannot get more by dividing clumps and planting them somewhere else in the garden? As in, once the year is passed, I can't have a 'perennial bunching onion patch", so I'll have to buy a different variety?

Comments (4)

• planatus
    10 years ago

I have not grown Guardsman, but other varieties bunch twice a year -- once in spring and once in fall. Right now I have some spring-planted bunchers in full division mode, multiplying into 4 plants each. They look like they will keep multiplying for a while. I like to lift the clumps, harvest lots of onions, and replant the individuals that get through the process with the most roots. Lifting and moving the clumps helps prevent problems with onion root maggots in my climate.

• yukkuri_kame
    10 years ago

I'm not familiar with Guardsman either, but allium fistulosum - aka green onions, welsh bunching, japanese bunching, negi, etc - are one of my real favorites because they are:

1) easy to grow
    2) relatively pest free
    3) productive
    4) perennial in my climate (and surely Bay Area as well)
    5) propagate themselves
    6) tasty & versatile in the kitchen
    7) good for you
    8) can be continuously harvested as cut-and-come again crops
    9) easy to grow in containers or garden beds

1. can be grown from the bottoms of storebought produce