Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neohippie

heirloom garlic newbie here

neohippie
14 years ago

Last week I got my garlic sampler from Seed Savers Exchange's online catalog. This is my first year being serious at growing garlic. I tried once or twice years ago with store bought cloves, but I didn't know what I was doing and at best ended up with some green garlic to eat. This year I decided to get serious and ordered the garlic sampler from SSE in August, since I didn't know what varieties I wanted. Then I kind of forgot about it. I mean, I didn't forget that I had ordered a garlic sampler, but I forgot how much garlic that would consist of.

And then last week I get this box with two bulbs each of TEN varieties! Woah! What was I thinking? This is a LOT of garlic! But it's probably fine since I like garlic and hopefully out of ten at least a few will like my growing conditions, I hope.

I had a lot of fun going through them all and seeing all the variation in size, color, shape, clove size and number, etc. So interesting! It's also really tempting to go ahead and eat some of it now, but I'd better plant them all in case some of them don't make it. I'm trying to cover my bases, here.

I managed to plant elephant, Bogatyr, and Chet's Italian red before it started raining and raining and raining and making it too muddy to work out in the garden for a while. I hope my garlic will be ok while I'm waiting for things to dry out, because I couldn't resist busting up all the bulbs into cloves already (for some reason that felt very satisfying, like popping bubblewrap or something), and now they'll have to wait a while. I was told I am to plant garlic in "early October", but I feel bad about disliking the rain since we've been in a serious drought and really need it. I just wish it would hold off long enough for me to plant the rest of my garlic in time.