Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roseofsharon_on

Planting Garlic and Onions

roseofsharon_on
19 years ago

This forum doesn't seem to have any FAQs so I am asking some very basic questions.

Can garlic from the grocery store be planted in the garden?

Onions to be planted are offered as either seeds or as packages of small bulbs. What are the differences or advantages of these two types of propagation?

Sharon

Comments (13)

• roseofsharon_on
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Peter, thank you for your helpful reply. Your website is very well organized and informative. I'll try both methods. It seems nothing short of miraculous that such tiny seeds can produce a whole onion in one growing season.

Sharon

• Peter60
    19 years ago

I didn't mention an early start, Sharon. Some growers will sow in January so it is a heated glasshouse situation. I have no experience of the grow lights and grow rooms that many people use for winter germinaion of a variety of seed.

• gardenlad
    19 years ago

There are several problems with sets.

1. Because they already are onions, with a year's growth behind them, they have a greater tendency to bolt early. The larger the set the more likely this is, so if you must plant sets, put the smallest ones---those no bigger than a dime---in the ground.

2. There is limited choice. Most of the time you have the three commonly available generic ones and that's all---although you can get named varieties from some sources.

3. Most generic sets are long-daylength types. This is fine for you, Sharon. But in mid- and short-daylength areas sets do not do well.

4. Set grown onions, as a rule, do not keep as well as others, even when the variety is the same.

So, taken as a whole, you should prioritize onions thus: seeds, plants, and sets as a last resort.