Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie_2007

How does a garlic clove become a bulb

newbie_2007
16 years ago

This may sound dumb but does the clove start a new plant and disappear leaving a bulb to grow or do more cloves attach to the initial clove?

This is my first year for growing garlic.

Rory

Comments (4)

• korney19
    16 years ago

It's a really long story but in short, each clove has a bud that forms at least a leaf, some leaves form cloves and some don't and just wrap some cloves I think. Cloves are actually swollen leaves...

Here, this may help, from the book Growing Great Garlic:

"A common misconception, even among garlic growers, is that a large solid bulb grows and then divides into cloves right befor harvest. Actually, tiny vegetative buds occur on the surface of the true stem [the 'true stem' is entirely below ground and almost flat as a pancake-korney19, from the book] at the base of the inner leaves. Some of the buds are fertile (another strange term, since they never actually get fertilized). Specialized leaves swell into cloves around each fertile bud in mid-spring in order to nourish and protect the bud through its period of rest and during its early growth. Notice that I said 'period of rest.' Most people assume garlic bulbs lie "dormant" until they're planted, but acording to botanists, they only 'rest.'"

and...

"Well ten thousand years of outrageous misfortune are enough. Despite stems that aren't really stems, flower stalks without noticeable flowers, cloves that are really leaves (or bulbs or fleshy scales--whatever), fertile buds that are never fertilized (so how did they get fertile?), and a plant that never dies no matter how old it gets, it's time for garlic to be shown some respect."