Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fredder_gw

Selling Garlic at farmers Markets

fredder
15 years ago

Hello,

I wanted to get some ideas about what every gets for garlic.

Things like price, how much and for how much.

What types sell the best. also braded or by the bulb or clove.

Just mainly any advice you can give, I'm just starting out so thanks a ton,

Fred

Comments (11)

• gallaure
    15 years ago

In Hollywood, I have seen California Early garlic running at 3 heads/$1.

In the valley (still Los Angeles County), my garlic guy sells his heads at 2/$1 with scape, leaves, and dirt still attached, bulbils still semi-immature. I'm not sure what variety it is, but I think it's a creole of some sort.

I'll keep an eye out and post back.

• kristincarol
    15 years ago

Most of the garlic at the farmers market I frequent goes for $6.00 per pound. That would be loose bulbs. If it is braided it goes for more.

I did see one vendor offering her garlic for $1/head, but it was teeny-tiny and would have amounted to about $20 per pound if she had sold it by the pound. Why the inferior product cost more than the superior ones I don't know.

The $6.00 stuff was beautiful and large and there was no contest when it came to whose I would buy.

• fredder
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks a ton for the info.

I have planted some this year and would like to sell it one day at a farmers market. I got some local and have begun to plant it.

For me it is mostly a timeing thing. I just have so much to do that it will take time before I ever get it to market.

Gallaure,

What farmers markets do you go to. I'm a little north of you. I would be very interested to know.

You can e mail if you want.

Thanks a ton all. It is very nice to get answers to my post.

F

• gallaure
    15 years ago

Fredder -