Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vegangirl_gw

help me decide on seeds from nargs, please

vegangirl
19 years ago

I just joined NARGS and got the seed list today. Can some one who has the list give me some suggestions of some pretty rock garden/alpine plants that are fairly easy from seed? I'm not a beginner with seed sowing, but I don't want to waste my 25 packets on seeds that are difficult until I have more experience with rock garden plants:-) I see lots on the list I would like to try but can't find anything about how easy they are from seed. I live in VA mts, zone 6, naturally acid soil that grows kalmia, rhododendrons, blueberries, etc. I can ammend of course if you suggest something that likes a more alkaline soil. Thanks!

Comments (9)

• leftwood
    19 years ago

Welcome to NARGS!

Of course most alpines grow in neutral to alkaline soils in their native habitat, I am sure that ammending the soil to raise the pH will be helpful. And while you're at it, the rich, humusy soils prevelent there are too rich for alpines: ammend with sand and grit, especially in pots. This will not only lean out the medium, but also provide the sharper drainage that is so important, even though humusy soil drains well.

Did you receive A Rock Garden Handbook For Beginners booklet from the NARGS when you joined? The 87 page book list "100 Plants for the Beginner".

Equal or even better would be to contact your local chapter for advice. Addresses are always listed in the quarterly bulletin, but you can contact them by email through the NARGS web site www.nargs.org. Click on "meetings", then "local chapters" and choose your chapter.

For seed sprouting, the Ontario Rock Garden Society has a most excellent germination guide on their web site: www.onrockgarden.com.

Rick

• vegangirl
    Original Author
    19 years ago