Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ljrmiller

Question about NARGS seed exchange

ljrmiller
18 years ago

This is my first year participating in the seed exchange--looks like 2006 will be my first year as a donor, because I don't have enough room left to spend all of late summer to late fall planting bulbs any more (that means I can take the time to collect and package seed).

I promptly sent off my seed request form, and in spite of infinite patience GROWING plants from seed, I have about zero patience when it comes to receiving catalogs, seeds, bulbs and/or plants in the mail.

My question: about when should I start racing home to see if my seeds arrived in the mail yet? I know donors get first pick, and that second round won't start for about another month, but I'm hopelessly excited (a hyperactive toddler on crack probably would be calmer) :-)

Lisa

Comments (11)

• sagebrushred
    18 years ago

Ljrmiller you crack me up! I always figure about two weeks. This way if they show up earlier I'm pleasantly surprised.

• ljrmiller
    Original Author
    18 years ago

sagebrushred, that was a bad thing to tell me! Once you gave me that information, I went diving back into my garden journal to see when I mailed my request, and checked my bank account to see when the check cleared (yesterday) so now I'm in a complete welter of anticipation. After all, the seeds should have arrived yesterday, too, right? :-)

I don't know HOW I'll survive until my RHS order arrives--they don't even START mailing until January 31!

• sagebrushred
    18 years ago

Lol! If I hadn't been so busy I'd have been just as impatient/anxious.

Happily for me the wait is over. I had a padded manila envelope full of seed packets waiting for me in my mailbox tonight. I can't even remember when I sent my request in so I couldn't tell you how long it took this year. It doesn't seem like it took very long though.