Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
galcho

Ideas for rockery planting (with picture)

galcho
17 years ago

I have small rockery shown on picture:

http://home.comcast.net/~vetka/images/cornergarden2.JPG

that i want to replant and maybe move some rocks as well, but i am new to rock gardening. This area is a slop on right side of driveway, driveway (you see gray cement in lower part of picture) is dividing frontyard in two parts, left part is on driveway level but right is more then two feet higher. We did not want to build a retaining wall but settled on some rockery along driveway.

I know that i need to improve soil (currently it's mostly clay covered with bark). I am planning to add pea gravel.

I know that i want to remove this rose bush because i want this corner to be evergreen.

Possible some dwarf conifer to plant instead of this rose?

Will appreciate any ideas as well as some reading source recomendation.

Maybe i should remove part of soil and move rocks up so slop would not be so steep?

This is only a part of long rockery, but i don't have time to do all together, will try to learn rock garden art and work piece by piece.

Comments (5)

• leftwood
    17 years ago

I can't advise you with plants since I have no experience in such a warm zone. But if you want to grow alpines, you will need to replace your clay. That is the total opposite of alpine soils that are very fast draining, high mineral (rock) content and low nutrition. Dwarf conifers would be a great idea. I have seen many gardens that are exclusively conifers, and they are lovely. Usually, very little soil preparation/ammending is needed.

• juudyshouse2012
    17 years ago

Galcho, I also live in the northwest. Do you live in WA or OR? This will be the third year for my rock garden and I do have a few suggestions, especially for our area. Here are some pictures of my rock garden. http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/judygoldfarb/album?.dir=/8ddfscd&.view=t