Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boothbay_gw

New to Hens & chicks

boothbay
13 years ago

I bought my first one this past summer and so far its doing nicely...except they are getting too tall and straggling. Is this typical? The tag says to keep it warm ( its in a 80" warm south window during the winter ) and moist. I see little babies at the base, but also see some bottom 'leaves' turning brown and shrivel. Don't know what else to do to prevent it from getting worse. BTW, I have it over a covered radiator.

Comments (9)

• botann
    13 years ago

Most Hen and Chicks I know are outside plants and don't take well being grown inside. I wouldn't put it out in the middle of winter now though, especially in Zone 6.
    Can you post a picture?

• boothbay
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Yes, here are two pics of them.
    {{gwi:370038}}

{{gwi:370039}}

Are they known for getting tall or is there a limit?

• botann
    13 years ago

I'm no expert when it comes to naming succulents. When I worked at a nursery years ago the crows were always stealing the name tags. We didn't grow the indoor types of Hen and Chicks or other succulents. That's what I think you have.

Legginess is caused by too much heat in combination with too much water, and lack of adequate light. It looks like you have enough light. They need a cooler window, and less water. Repotting in larger containers using a very gritty mix would help too. Go easy on the water. They can go over a month without it and it would be doing them a favor.
    Hope this helps.
    I do have a few indoor types now though.
    Hope this helps.

Mike
    Pics of my garden. http://community.webshots.com/user/phildert

• botann
    13 years ago

I'm no expert when it comes to naming succulents. When I worked at a nursery years ago the crows were always stealing the name tags. We didn't grow the indoor types of Hen and Chicks or other succulents. That's what I think you have.