Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vegangirl_gw

NARGS-- is it worth it?

vegangirl
20 years ago

I'm new to alpine/rock gardening but not to gardening in general. Is joining NARGS worthwhile or can I get the information they give online or in books? I have plans and dreams to build a sunny rock wall (I've actually started it), shady rock steps with tiny plants, and a shady creek bank with boulders. I don't really know how to describe that but what I have in mind is to fix up our southwest facing creek bank which is about 15 feet high and shaded on both sides of the creek, with rocks and plant things like dwarf rhododendrons, ferns, woodland wildflowers. I have seen places like this in real life and am trying to mimic them.

Comments (5)

• leftwood
    20 years ago

I am president of the MN chapter NARGS. I first joined the national organization to be able to participate in the seed exchange. There is so much you can get nowhere else. Initially, I found their quarterly bulletins over my head most of the time, but was enticed by the exquisite photography of such unusually colorful alpine flora, and was eventually hooked. Information can be found elsewhere, Timber Press carries many good books, although not as thorough as the NARGS bookstore.

Hot of the press would be a perfect one for you: Rock Garden Design and Construction. But I don't think it talks about plants. There are many good books for that. I am sure you have a local chapter in VA, dues would be cheaper and you'll get a lot of good advice. As with almost every garden society, members usually don't only do rock gardening and I am sure you can get advice for your shady and creek areas too. You can contact them through the nargs.org website. click on "meetings" then "local chapters." The national convention is in Raleigh this year.