Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosie_zone_4

alpines for zone 5

Rosie_Zone_4
19 years ago

Hi - I have a beautiful old rock with lots of crevices and pits in it. When we moved to this house there were perrenials planted in the ground around it that grow to about 2 feet high and cover the rock by mid-June. I am going to rip it all out this year and want to plant something in and around the rock that stays really low. It is right near the road so would get salt spray in winter etc... Mostly sun. I like flowering plants and moss...any ideas?

Comments (7)

• abgardeneer
    19 years ago

Well, there is certainly no problem finding alpines hardy to zone 5!
    The attached plant list suggests zone ratings for a terrific selecton of alpines, if that's what you're looking for. (NB> I am not experienced enough with alpines to judge if the zone ratings are reasonably accurate or not, but it's a start.)
    Lori

PS Sorry your post has gone unanswered for so long. The reason I personally have hesitated is that it's unclear if you are looking for true alpines, or plants that require enhanced drainage, or simply for lower-growing perennials with which to replace the taller ones. (My personal definition of "alpines" is high montane plants that really require enhanced drainage, and won't do well in regular garden soils - though often the definition is much looser.) I sort of sense that it is the latter, but if not, enjoy the list - I find it quite useful.

Here is a link that might be useful: Beaver Creek alpines list

• sagebrushred
    19 years ago