Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pianolady_gw

Is it possible to transplant lichens?

pianolady
17 years ago

Hello all, I'm new to rock gardening, and have a start on a slope on the back of my property (see below). I also have lichens growing on my old deck, which will be replaced in the next few years sometime. Is there any way I can "transplant" the lichens onto my rocks in the rock garden? Or, is this a silly or bad idea?

{{gwi:370515}}

Comments (15)

• terrestrial_man
    17 years ago

If the lichens are growing on the rocks already then you needn't worry. But if the lichens are not then quite possibly they are not lithocarpic. If you wish to save the lichens then perhaps saving the part of the deck they are on and setting in on the slope might save the lichens but I doubt that they would spread to the rocks unless that is one of their natural substrates.

• neil_peren
    17 years ago

lichens are too sensitive to just scrape off and transplant. i collected rocks from woodland trails for my walls and borders and many have lichens, liverworts and moss growing on them. they have "seeded' other rocks since (but very slowly as thier growing conditions of light and water seem to be very specific). i have heard that if you put moss in a blender with buttermilk on a low setting and paint it on a surface such as a rock or pot, it will grow if kept moist, Maybe this will work with lichens.

• irisgirl
    17 years ago

Hi! I have also heard of using plain yogurt whizzed up in a blender w/ lichens...but never tried it myself. We've had a couple of mild but "wet enough" winters not to have to worry about the health of our lichen boulders. I have to figure out how to post pix here...

• marthacr
    15 years ago

(bumping up this thread to get more info)