Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulstocksdale_zone5

Growing Irish Moss (sagina subulata) and Corsican Mint

My wonderful mother-in-law purchased a few corsican mint plants for me. They had told her that they were the same as Irish Moss which will grow fine in my zone 5 garden. However, corsican mint, I understand, grows in zones 7-10. Any suggestions on growing this mint. I had planned to place them as a mossy bed around a Japanese maple. Should I grow them in pots and bring them inside in winter, or provide some sort of winter protection? I have also bought some true Irish Moss (sagina subulata) to go in this shady "mossy" bed. Any suggestions on growing sagina subulata. I'm relatively new to gardening and would gladly receive any suggestions.

Comments (30)

• Rodger Whitlock - 8 (PNW maritime)
    25 years ago

Corsican mint is quite tender. It mostly gets killed out during our relatively mild (and wet!) winters here, and I suspect it will be destroyed in zone 5. However, it seeds fairly easily and I usually find self-sown plants turning up.

• Paul Stocksdale - Zone 5
    Original Author
    25 years ago

Thank you for the info. I am considering planting some of my Corsican Mint in clay pots and then burying this in some shady moist ground. Then dig the pot up to bring it in for winter. I'll see how this goes. I assume the true Irish Moss (sagina subulata) that I bought will do just fine through the winter.

• emily moorefield - 6
    25 years ago

Geez, I just put a little bunch of corsican mint into my fledgling rock garden in New Jersey a few wks ago, and itÂs doing fine! IÂd definitely try planting some and keep some in pots

Thanks for the word on its non-hardiness -- itÂs a great little plant and I wouldnÂt want to lose it, so IÂll take in some of mine for the winter as well.

• Jeff
    25 years ago