Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bellarosa009

Favorite rock garden plants

bellarosa
17 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to rock gardening and really need some suggestions on your favorite rock garden plants. Thanks much!

Comments (16)

• terrestrial_man
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My favorite:
    LEWISIA!!
    click link to see!

• bellarosa
    Original Author
    17 years ago

WOW! That's beautiful! I'm don't know anything about rock gardening. Is this a full sun plant? Does it need a lot of moisture and when does it bloom? Tell me more!

• terrestrial_man
    17 years ago

Lewisia hails from the mountains of Washington down into Northern California (it may be in Canada too-have not checked). Imagine the face of a cliff wall or a steep gravely slope with large boulders in it and in the cracks around the boulders are plants of Lewisia!
    I am in zone 9 in south central California (Northern Santa Barbara County) just 15 miles inland from the ocean. You would think that a NW mountain plant would not do that great here but!