Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cannacrazy

Transplanting Chicks

cannacrazy
15 years ago

This is my first year to have a rock garden but it has quickly become one of my favorites. Both of the hens in this garden were doing quite well until about a week ago when one of the hens suddenly died. I tried transplanting a chick but I must have done something wrong because it didn't make it. Now I'm trying to transplant a chick from my other hen but I'm worried that I'll lose this one, too. Can anybody give me some advice on transplanting chicks? The one I lost, I actually planted in the dirt but I read a post somewhere about just placing the chicks on top of the dirt? Please help!

Susan

Comments (19)

• omniphasic
    15 years ago

It's important to let the cut heal before planting them on.
    Do your cuttings,and let the cut portion dry for about a week before transplanting.I always use fine gravel on top of the soil I'm planting them in,and just stick the 'chicks'right in.

• cannacrazy
    Original Author
    15 years ago

So where would you safely store the chicks while waiting for the cuts to heal? Would you leave them in the sun? Do they continue to get a bit of water during that week? How much of the stem do you leave attached when putting them in the soil? Are there usually roots starting by the end of that week? I know...so many questions, but I'm really trying to do this right! Thanks so much for your help!

• bamaud
    15 years ago

You can just leave the chicks on a counter or windowsill. I would keep them out of direct sunlight, though. They shouldn't need any care during that time.

I've read that it's best to cut as much of the stem off as possible, to encourage root growth underneath the rosette. Usually, I don't think that roots will being to grow when they are drying out. Roots start to grow when they are in their growing medium.

-Ben

• cannacrazy
    Original Author
    15 years ago