Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chickadee__3a

Plants reliable for Zone 3 (Canada)

chickadee__3a
19 years ago

I see from the posts here that most of you garden in much warmer areas than I do. Our winter temps can get to -40. I am interested in plants for my rock garden that will winter over. I have several sedums and semps that have been reliable but I'm looking for a little more variety. Thanks

Comments (3)

• abgardeneer
    19 years ago

It's hard to answer your question since it's unclear if you are growing plants in "alpine" beds or troughs (i.e. using special soil mixes to provide very good drainage), or just an informal bed with rocks and plants ?? It's also hard to answer since many people grow species in troughs that are not alpines at all, and in some cases, don't even require improved drainage. Anyway, I'm no expert at alpines but I thought I'd finally take a stab at answering, since I am in your zone...

Here are some plants that have done well in our troughs for years:
    Primula marginata, farinosa
    Penstemon newberryi, procerus
    Rosa minima
    Draba rigida
    Saponaria lutea
    Saxifraga x irvingii 'Jenkinsiae', sancta
    Diantus alpina, freyneii, stenkissen
    Androsace primuloides
    Erigeron leiomerus
    Talinum spinescens
    Veronica thymoides
    Gentiana septemfida
    (This is not to say that ALL the above plants are necessarily actual alpines, or that they even need particularly good drainage.)

On a broader note, penstemons generally appreciate good drainage (although the garden varieties were developed to be tolerant of heavier soils). Try all the penstemons you come across - the following are hardy here, and no doubt, lots of others are too. Many of these are grown in troughs, where they bloom earlier and, of course, remain much smaller than in the ground.
    Penstemon albidus
    Penstemon confertus
    Penstemon digitalis 'Husker Red'
    Penstemon hallii
    Penstemon mexicali 'Red Rocks'