Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragonstone

My favorite hen is dying. Why?

dragonstone
19 years ago

You can see a picture of my hen here. Basically, This is my biggest hen I've had since last year and I put it in a frying pan. It grew several other chicks. I was going to leave it in the pan so that it could mature without worrying about being too crowded.

Well, as you can see from the picture, when I went to do my weekly watering, it looks as if it is dying. I tugged on a leaf and it came free without any struggling whatsoever. Is there a way to save it or am I watering too much or what? It never seemed to have a problem with my weekly waterings before.

It has never flowered nor does it appear that it wanted to flower.

Comments (14)

• Doris_14
    19 years ago

Usually they die too much water..however yours great.
    Where do you keep them, and how long have you growing them,
    I am new to this I love them I hhope they will thrive.

Good Luck!

• xanadu
    19 years ago

A little more information would help but from what I can tell, your semp is rotting--too much water or too much heat can make this happen. The soil in your picture looks soggy. Do you really have the sempervivum in a frying pan? Have you drilled drainage holes? Unless you are very very careful with your watering, keeping any succulent in a pot without drainage holes is an invitation for rotting from too much water. It's even worse when it warms up, which may be why you are having a problem now where you haven't had one before. Here I can't water at all during July and August due to the heat. Try putting the chicks in a very free draining, sandy, rocky mix in a pot with big drainage holes and perhaps the chicks will survive. My semps have to be in shade during the summer because the pots heat up too much in our 100+F degree heat.

• dragonstone
    Original Author
    19 years ago