Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rebecca_gw

angel's trumpet/datura?

Rebecca
25 years ago

wondering if the tree known as the angel's trumpet is the same as the Datura...??

i have it in partial shade and it seems to droop mid day...anyone know the best way to care for it? thank you! i'm pretty new at this but wanting to learn...

Comments (37)

• emily moorefield
    25 years ago

Your ÂAngelÂs Trumpet could be a datura, or could be a brugmansia, a larger-flowered species related to datura. Is it in a pot? The nursery from whom I bought my brugmansia says they do best in big pots. Both datura and brugmansia like heat and sun, but canÂt handle dryness. IÂm new at this too, but I think they should do OK in part shade, like afternoon, as long as they get some good hours of sun (like 5-6) before that. As far as the mid-day drooping, IÂd try watering, and depending on the soil you have them in, maybe a liquid fertilizer once a week or so.

• Carole Rogers
    25 years ago

Hi Rebecca My beloved Daturas stand face up whereas Brugmansia hang down. I water around the roots every evening.
    Carole

• Becky
    25 years ago

I have a 7 foot white Datura in a large patio planter, it gets mid-late morning sun. My question is, It hasnt bloomed, does it need fertilizer? if so,what type? how often? I have noticed since the temps have been in the 100-110 range, that the leaves are beginning to yellow around the edges, am I overwatering? I water 1x daily, usually in evening. PLEASE HELP, I am a NOVICE at this but would love to learn more. I saw my first Datura tree in Ventura California, it was over 10 ft high & well over 1000 Apircot colored blooms. It is located at the "San Buena Ventura Mission" What a beautiful sight !! I thank you in advance for your advice.

• Wayne Grant
    25 years ago

Becky - I understand that Datura are heavy feeders and like
    moisture, so I guess fertilizer and lots of water are the key. Good luck Wayne.

• perie
    24 years ago