Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cassiope_gw

gentians - what am I doing wrong?

cassiope
19 years ago

I've been growing gentians for about 4 years now - (G. septemfida and G. acaulis). A couple of years they were great - but this summer and another -they look quite miserable. Here in central WI we've had a fairly wet spring. Our summer this year has been (I think) ideal - 70s, 80s and not too humid. My soil is naturally sandy and I've amended it with rotted bark and peat moss. Have I made it too acid? What happens is their growth is strong and then a whole stem withers away. A couple of plants have shriveled up and died. Wet rot?

Comments (4)

• alpiner
    19 years ago

I grow a lot of gentian species with some success. This is what works for me. Others might have success with other methods.

Firstly, no peat moss. Gentians vary a lot but mine grow best in neutral or slightly alkaline soil. I'm not a big fan of peat moss in the planting of most plants. I find it wicks away water from the roots and can give a false impression that a plant is moist (as needed by gentians).

I dig a hole and put in some gravel. Then sand. Then fill up the rest of the hole with soil and about a third compost. The gentians are kept well watered throughout the season but have good drainage. My Gentiana acaulis will bloom a second time if I deadhead the flowers about two weeks after they fade. I don't deadhead them all but leave one so that it can form seed that I scratch back into the ground.

Also, they need sun. I've had a few plants that have been shaded by a rock, etc. and they don't bloom well (but are healthy).

Our gentian species in the nearby Rockies sometimes grow in almost mud. I've tried to replicate this without success and the plants rot. For some reason the same species need drainage when in 'captivity'. There must be another variable such as exposure, cold, snow cover, etc. that I'm not replicating.

• cassiope
    Original Author
    19 years ago