Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jkuns

Ice plant in dry stacked rock wall

Jkuns
21 years ago

Has anyone tried using ice plants (Delosperma congestum ) in betweeen the rocks of a dry stacked wall? Also, they are supposed to be hardy to zone 5 but I want to be sure they will survive our winters (Technically I am in zone 5b/6 but like to stay well within my zone when planting). I love these plants but this is my first year with them and don't want to plant them in the wall if there is a chance they will not overwinter.

Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions

Jean

Comments (9)

• sbeuerlein
    21 years ago

Jean, I live in Cincinnati, and have done it. It's a fairly low wall, filled with a sandy soil mix, and my Delasperma cooperi has done beautifully. In two years it has spread along about six feet of the top of the wall. It is in constant bloom from maybe June to frost. It is also very easy to take pieces and try them other places. D. nubigeum has survived on top of another wall but has never flowered. I don't know why. I've got several other delaspermas doing well in other places, but not in walls. They are, however, in soils that stay relatively dry during the winter. Wet soil, more than cold temperatures, in my opinion, is why these plants sometimes don't survive winter.

Scott

• Jkuns
    Original Author
    21 years ago

That was just the information I was looking for - thank you so much - I am thrilled to hear that yours survive the winter, mine are planted on a slope in a sand/compost mixture and seem to be doing well. I just love these ice plants, the blooms are so prolific and long lasting and perfect for my sloped gardens.

Thanks again,
    Jean

P.S. I am SW of Dayton

• sbeuerlein
    21 years ago