Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
audrey_gw

Amaryllis Temptation

audrey_gw
13 years ago

I think Temptation might be my prettiest amaryllis so far, and I've had quite a few. (Since I'm not good at getting them to rebloom, I usually purchase a new one every year!) The blooms were even pretty from the back, as you can see in the photos.

There were two stalks and each stalk had five flowers. Unfortunately, both stalks insisted on blooming at virtually the same time--and at the same height--so I had to wedge some styrofoam betweem the stems so the blooms wouldn't crowd each other too much. Anybody have a better solution for that? Also, does anybody know what might have caused that strange extra stripe in the flower on the left?

{{gwi:372335}}
{{gwi:372336}}

Comments (8)

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    13 years ago

Audrey, Your 'Temptation' is just lovely, one of my favorites, and I think I just might just like it better than 'Charisma'..close call. I love it when both stalks bloom at the same time, doesn't happen all that often..I have several small smooth rocks that I use to prop up the flowers when they want to lean, or in your case to pry them apart.. But, you can use anything, but a small rock blends in better than styrofoam..

Please try your best to save this bulb for another year... it's a beauty...and another year you might get a mislabel..at least you know you've got the real thing..

Oh, and as far as the red streaks, It probably won't happen again, this does happen once in a while...

Donna

• mikep_cfl
    13 years ago

I agree with you. I purchased 4 Temptations this year; 3 from VE and 1 from RC. And all 4 bloomed true to name; they were beautiful and so are yours. Of course, the one from RC proved to be the best performer...but...the price for 3 from VE wasn't bad either. Only one scape from each bulb so far.

Nice pics.

Cheers
    Mike

• organicstarbuck
    13 years ago

Wow...the color just pops out at you! Gorgeous.

• audrey_gw