Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neila_gw

Floppy Leaves

neila
18 years ago

Is it a real common problem for the leaves of Amaryllis to flop over and lay flat. I have tied them up for now, but wonder if I am over/under something to cause this.

I have 6 plants and two of them are doing this.

I am pretty new at this and tried to find previous posts about this with no luck.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (11)

• ajwalsh172
    17 years ago

I'm having the same problem with a couple of my plants. Since it's been fairly warm here, I've placed all of the amaryllises I had indoors, outside in full sun. Ironically, one of the plants with a couple of floppy leaves has gotten worse. Before I placed the plant outside, the leaves still had their structure and were only slightly flexible, but were not able to stand up on their own. Now, the 2 outer leaves are flaccid, without any turgor. I don't think it's an issue of over or under watering. I only water when the upper 1 1/2 - 2 inches of soil is dry. Maybe too rapid change in climate?

Anyway, will the leaves recover? Or should I go ahead and cut them off? Although I've staked the leaves (loosely for support), they're starting to get tiny breaks in the center where they flop over.

Thanks in advance!
    Alicia

• soultan
    17 years ago

They will most likely turn yellow soon, so cut them off when they start to die. My philosophy is not to cut off anything that's not dead or dying. a green leaf still feeds the bulb. It might not be a pretty sight, but at this point it is functional rather than ornamental. Though I agree, a well-leafed bulb looks pretty even without flowers.

• anna_in_quebec
    17 years ago