Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brownest_thumb

Bulb Rot?

brownest_thumb
11 years ago

Upon inspecting one of my hippeastrum species around a month ago, I discovered what seemed to be a softish area on one part of the bulb. I've peeled back the rotting area 3 weeks in a row, but cannot seem to stem the rot. I had no fungicide availible, so last week I used cinnamon. 1 week later I dug it up, and while I still have a red area, the flesh is at least firm.

My question is: Is this still mold or perhaps something akin to "scar tissue"?

Has any one had good experience halting mold entirely? Moldicide?

Comments (6)

• brownest_thumb
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hope I will not need to attempt twin scale cuttage, of which I have no experience.

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    11 years ago

I would suggest that you scrape off the remaining red spots and let it dry throughly. I'm not so sure it's actually mold, my guess would be rot. I have never tried cinnamon, but that's because I always have captan on hand, which always works for me. Another thing, is this an older bulb or a new bulb? I'm wondering why, if it was dug up recently, why there are no roots and the basal plate looks a bit dark, but maybe it's just the camara shot. Is the basal plate hard and dry?

When replanting this bulb, where the wounded area is so close to the basal plate, I would just literally sit this bulb on top of the soil keeping the wound entirely out in the open so that it is constantly getting air circulation and keep it dry. Try the cinnamon again. No wet soil should touch this wound at all. When it heals, (and it should) then a few months from now you can put more soil on top if you wish.

What is the variety of this bulb, and has it ever bloomed for you?

Donna

• brownest_thumb
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi Donna

It's a seedling perhaps 2 years old of the species h. intiflorum. It has never bloomed yet.