Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fishing_dentist

ID please

fishing_dentist
12 years ago

First of all a happy new year to all of You connected with all my best whishes for You and Your families!!

{{gwi:375110}}

3 Years ago i got this Hippeastrum as an variety of vittatum. A good friend did pick it up at the island Reunion as a present to me. It does�nt looks like a vittatum.

For an estrela the colours are too strong for me.

Anybody an idea?

Thanks a lot and best regards

Comments (24)

• berkeleysgr8
    12 years ago

It looks similar to "Opal Star/Seductress/Cherry Crush" (three names of the same cultivar), but yours has more red. It isn't dark enough for a "Ruby Star". It is very pretty and has a nice shape! I'm new to this hobby, I'm sure some of the more experienced growers will offer better ideas!

Tina

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    12 years ago

Hi Frank..Happy New Year to You and Your Family!!

It does look a bit like Estrella, your picture isn't that clear, not many pixels so it's a bit hard to determine. Estrella has a couple of traits that you might recognize. It most always has 4 to 6 flowers per scape and it is fragrant. Also, it seems to bloom twice a year on most years..and the color can be an intense as yours, so I wouldn't entirely rule Estrella out. Do you remember the number of flowers per umbel this put out? I've had my bulb for 3 or 4 years now and although I suspect it is virused, it grows as if nothing is wrong..very strong and vigirous bulb. I almost forgot, it is a semi trumpet too!!

Donna

Compare these to yours...{{gwi:375111}}{{gwi:375113}}

{{gwi:375114}}

Hope I could help..

Donna

• joshy46013
    12 years ago

I agree with 'Estrella'

It is for sure not any of the Israeli hybrids.

• fishing_dentist
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks at You all!