Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tokyomafia

How Large do Bulbs Get?

tokyomafia
18 years ago

Newbie here, I've aquired over 50 in my Amaryllis bug after Christams sales and winding down from the buying bug and now concentrating on learning all over the Web. Anyhow, I'm curious how large do bulbs get? Also what is your largest bulb? My largest is currently 36cm I got from some person off eBay that dug some up from his mother's garden.

Comments (24)

• brigarif Khan
    18 years ago

Why are the bulbs rated by circumfrence and not by diameter, which to me is more logical.
    Any reason.
    ARIF

• plant_guy
    18 years ago

That one's easy. Because you cannot quickly and accurately get the measurement with a tape measure, piece of string, etc. My biggest bulb to date has been 42cm.

Plant_Guy

• tokyomafia
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I found a this post last year from Mozart 2 on planting in large containers (16") and he said, "This employee - of German heritage - planted his Amaryllis bulbs outside in the late spring and early summer in a very deeply prepared and in a very loose soil structure. He fertilized and watered them on a regular basis and ended up with Soccer sized Amaryllis bulbs in the late fall."

• plant_guy
    18 years ago

Mr. Werner, would you care to comment on this? I have been doing this for 25 years and have never seen a soccer ball sized amaryllis bulb. I say impossible, unless he was living near a nuclear power plant.

Plant_Guy

Here is a link that might be useful: My Amaryllis Site

• lora_in
    18 years ago

Hi Plant_Guy,
    I'll chime in till Hans-Werner gets here:)
    I'm with you on the soccer ball size,it's just not gonna happen. I have a number of 36cm bulbs and one almost 40cm Nymph,but it's going to split. Maybe an entire clump,mother bulb with offspring,could reach soccer ball size. Not an individual bulb though. Lora

• haweha
    18 years ago

I do not know the circumference of a soccer ball... sorry;