Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tigerdawn_gw

Parentage Question

tigerdawn
13 years ago

As I posted the other day, I have Red Lion and Wedding Dance and I have crossed them. Will I get different results with Red Lion as the mother that I will with Wedding Dance as the mother? I'm new to this plant breeding thing.

Comments (12)

• brigarif Khan
    13 years ago

You will have the answer, but you have to wait for three to four years.

• tigerdawn
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Lol!

• npublici
    13 years ago

You would have to plant a few acres of seeds from both crosses,in order to tell the difference between wide variety,which occurs when crossing two cultivars,and what would occur when one or the other was the female or male parent.
    Del

• tigerdawn
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Do you guys recommend crossing both ways? I already did, but I'd like to know what you do.

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    13 years ago

First of all, you will get different results using only one flower as the female. If you have siblings, think of your own situation. You all have the same parents, but every child is different. Same with seeds. With the same male and female flowers you will get different results every time. That is because different traits are passed on each time a cross is made. Don't think just because you've "done" a cross, you know what it will always look like. It can be different the next time. (And always keep in mind, as pointed out on this forum before, that temperature, light, soil and other factors have a significant effect on how the flower on the same bulb appears from year to year.)

Now, is there a difference which flower you use as the female? Only if there are sex-linked genes. I do not know if amaryllis have sex-linked genes or not.