Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northwoodswis

crossing double amaryllises

northwoodswis
14 years ago

I have been raising amaryllises for many years and have a large collection, to my husband's dismay. This year for the first time, I decided to try crossing some, and now have some pods forming. However, I could find no reproductive parts on my doubles, such as Aphrodite and Nymph. Am I overlooking something, or are these not crossable?

Northwoodswis

Comments (16)

• Carl
    14 years ago

No, doubles are in that direction a dead end. But some still have functional anthers, so you can apply "double-pollen" to single varieties. The outcome will most likely have single blooms, at least the crosses where that I've seen till now with a double involved. But in the next generation there should be 1 double for each 4 offsprings ... if Mendel's right ;)

• brigarif Khan
    14 years ago

Depends on your luck. I have been quite lucky. Do not get disheartened.

• dancacti
    14 years ago

so does that mean that 'double' is a recessive trait?

so if pollen for a double (double x double) is coupled with a pure single (single x single) then you will get double x SINGLE (with 'single' dominant and double recessive), but if you then put double pollen on this version you could potentially get double x double (50%)?
    the other variation of course being double x SINGLE (50%).

Is this the way it works, or am I just confusing things? or does it depend on the hybrid?

• tugbrethil
    14 years ago

Man, I hate being such a wet blanket!