Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hippiezep

Hybrid flowers in 2 years

hippiezep
13 years ago

This hybrid is from a red-white crossed with a dancing queen. I understood that it would likely be four years before the first flowering, but I was very pleased to see that it had flowered after only two. There are several others too, but most are just single red flowers with a small greenish central star.

{{gwi:401014}}

Comments (33)

• joshy46013
    13 years ago

That's a very beautiful bloom, can you post some of the others as well? I like to see all of them regardless if they're 'bland' :)

Thanks, you must be a great grower with bringing them to bloom in 2 years, I know it has been done but it doesn't happen very often :)

Josh

• hippiezep
    Original Author
    13 years ago

This is my first attempt at producing hybrids. Some seedlings from spring 2008 and some from spring 2009 produced flowers this month. About three quarters of them look more or less like this. This one is from Benfica crossed with Dancing Queen.

{{gwi:401015}}

This one is carmen crossed with giraffe

{{gwi:401016}}

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    13 years ago

Just love your double!!

• hippiezep
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Here's another one. Not sure about the parents, as the labels got blown away in the typhoon, but I'm guessing the same

{{gwi:396414}}

• joshy46013
    13 years ago

Very pretty!

• hippiezep
    Original Author
    13 years ago

And one more

{{gwi:401017}}

• hippiezep
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Another hybrid bloomed today. This one had two blooms on very long pedicels - so long that the weight of the double flower makes them droop. I'm guessing this is another red/white x dancing queen cross

{{gwi:401018}}

{{gwi:401019}}

{{gwi:401020}}

• joshy46013
    13 years ago