Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
southerndirt_gw

Sick Amaryllis

southerndirt
16 years ago

I'm new to this, so forgive me ahead of time. I was given a bunch of amaryllis bulbs which I planted into a wonderful bed. I have been so excited as I've watched them grow and sprout into flowers. They have been just gorgeous as they have bloomed. But now, they are turning all yellow and spotted. What is going on? Do I need to spray them with something, and if so, what? Please help.

Comments (5)

• macthayer
    16 years ago

It sounds to me as if they are going dormant, which is a natural process that all bulbs go through. My only concern here is to be assured that the "spots" aren't powdery mildew. In that case, a fungicide would be a good idea. What I would do is slow way, way down on the watering, and let the plants go completely dormant. Don't be surprised if all of the leaves turn yellow and fall off. At that point you can either leave them potted and put them in a cool, dry place, or take them out of the pot and do the same thing. As long as they're healthy, I'd leave them potted, but it's your choice. Then as soon as they show the first sign of growth, which may not be until fall, you can re-pot them with a fresh, very well draining soil mix, and start with adding small amounts of water. The bigger the growth, the more water they'll need to support the growth. MacThayer

• kaboehm (zone 9a, TX USA)
    16 years ago

If you live in Alabama, then I would think this is much too early in the year for them to go dormant! In SE Texas (similar climate) they don't go dormant until the weather cools in the autumn.

I just invested my $5 in Schultz's 3in1 spray today. Don't believe I lived without it before now! (fungicide, insecticide, and miteicide!).

Good luck! Someone will have the perfect answer. I've been growing them for over 10 years, but until now have only had the common Christmas-boxed variety (with a couple of exceptions).

Kristi

• macthayer
    16 years ago