Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haxuan

How long will seeds stay viable?

haxuan
14 years ago

Now that I have several seed pods, I wonder if I could keep these seeds for some time before planting them.

If so, how long will these seeds stay viable? and how should I store them?

Normally in the past, when I received seeds from friends here, I planted them immediately.

Thanks for your advice.

Xuan

Comments (11)

• npublici
    14 years ago

I am not an expert on this,but I do know that the longer you have them,the fewer the number which will germinate. I misplaced some in a dry building,in which the temperatures reached over 100Fah from march to october. Upon planting them in october only about two percent germinated. I have read that temperatures below 50Fah and low humidity will keep the seeds and produce a high number of germinations,up until five months. After that the germination rate drops.
    Del

• haxuan
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Many thanks, Del.
    If "cool & dry" can help seeds fresh longer, maybe storing them in a fridge will do.

Xuan

• kaboehm (zone 9a, TX USA)
    14 years ago

I keep mine on the kitchen counter in egg crates. I floated a few of last year's seeds and most of them sprouted. So...they are viable at least 1 year without any care whatsoever!
    ;-)
    Kristi

• haxuan
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Many thanks, Kristi.

• elizabeth_jb
    14 years ago

Most kindly, I do not wish to contradict what Kristi is saying. Kristi, if yours stay on the counter for one year with no care, you have been quite fortunate.

How long they will keep at room temperatures depends on the seeds themselves. Johnsonii seeds are more 'oily' in appearance and much like sunflower seeds. They do not dry up as quickly, but the majority of the seeds will dry up and wither away after a few months. The longer you keep them at room temperature, the less viable they will be, so I agree that you should try to refrigerate if possible.