Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigoledude

Will full sun destroy my plants?

bigoledude
17 years ago

I have been growing amaryllis for only 8 months. Up til now I have kept my 30 or so potted plants outdoors against the northern wall of my house. They have experienced very little direct sunlight. My goal is NOT to have plants that barely hang on. I want to grow my plants in an environment that will produce the healthiest, finest Hippeastrum possible.

1. If I slowly acclimate them to direct sun, would they eventually flourish in the heat of SE Louisiana summers(90-97 degrees)?

2. If not, how many hours of direct sunlight would they prefer per day?

3. How old should my SEEDLINGS be before I subject them to direct sun?

Picotee, Lady Jane, Hercules, Red Lion, Vittatum, Rosario, Apple Blossom, Orange Soveriegn. Amoretta and 5 small red doubles that were supposed to be Papilio

Comments (23)

• houstonpat
    17 years ago

Howdy,
    In general, bulbs easily adapt to full sun. In fact, most seem to grow better and have less problems. My folks grow them in Phoenix where they get a little more than half day full sun at about 110F. I reccommend using a slightly larger pot; going 1.5 - 2 inches on either side of the bulb and deep clay pot. Seedlings I grow in about 50% shade until they are 1" dia.

• mariava7
    17 years ago

Hi Bigoledude...ARIF I think would be "the MAN" to answer your questions...lol! Let's wait and see...

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    17 years ago

Bigoledude,

I have all mine in full sun in Jacksonville, Florida - approximately the same lattitude and humidity as your climate. They love it. Arif is in a significantly hotter environment than you and me, and he says his do fairly well until it gets well into the 100's, but hopefully he will weigh in on this thread.

By the way, did you get the Orange Sovereign seeds I sent you a few weeks ago?

Carol

• tokyomafia
    17 years ago