Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sun_worshiper

Landscaping with Hippeastrum

sun_worshiper
10 years ago

Hi all, thought I'd share some of my outdoor hippeastrum growing adventure with you. I have been moving test plants around for 3 years, figuring out what likes where in my yard, and growing lots of seedlings. This spring was the great re-arrange=)

I have created an amaryllid garden in the bed that surrounds the screen room around my pool. I have filled it with hippeastrum, crinum, lycoris, scadoxus, rhodophiala bifida and multiple kinds of rain lilies.

Lovely blank slate. Everything out but my "seedmaker" hippeastrums and crinums that hate to be moved. Brought in a layer of good compost to amend the soil.
{{gwi:414306}}
{{gwi:414308}}
{{gwi:414311}}

Now the fun part - planting! Here are my trays jammed with year old Hippeastrum seedlings. Hard to see in the pictures, but each row is carefully labeled with what it is. Donna, all the seeds you sent me are growing in here. Dan, I saved all the seed that your striatum bulb produced when it flowered, and there are about 20 striatum seedlings in here too. Jim, I was only able to get 2 of the aulicum seeds to grow, but both are very healthy. The rest of the trays are filled with seed from other local gardeners. Thank you all so much for sharing!

{{gwi:414313}}

{{gwi:414315}}

The President Johnson get the prize for making the biggest, most robust bulbs:
{{gwi:414317}}

And here is the final planting:
{{gwi:414318}}
{{gwi:414319}}
{{gwi:414320}}
{{gwi:414322}}

I have planted the different varieties in big drifts, so it should look amazing when they are all blooming size. The hippeastrums largely are around the outer border, and the inside next to the screen is mainly rain lilies. One of the neat things about the rain lilies is that with their summer bloom, they are right at eye level when in the pool=)