Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenn_gw

Potted Amaryllis from Christmas still has green leaves

jenn
12 years ago

Last Christmastime, my mom gave me a potted, blooming Amaryllis. She also bought one for herself, so she was shocked when I recently told her the leaves on mine are still green and show no signs of turning yellow, while she lost the leaves on hers early this year. The bulb is still in the original plastic 6" pot and I give it water only when the soil is dry.

I'm new to Amaryllis and wondering what to do with it now. I'd like to plant it in the garden. Do I need to wait until the leaves turn yellow and can be removed?

Comments (5)

• haweha
    12 years ago

"Nicht wirklich"
    "Actually: Not"

Greetings from Germany, and show your Mom, the following picture. Them Knight Star Lilies should be in full leaves now, in order to restore their bulbs. It is called Photosynthesis.
    Provide your bulb with the best care, consistently. Then you will have nice, big, firm bulbs in autumn.

{{gwi:415763}}

From Left to right:
    "UnderTheLadder"
    "dark red heirloom" (small pot at the window)
    "PapMinPic" (on blue frisbee disc saucer)
    "Exotic Star"
    "PapDon2"
    4 seedlings of "Chico" x H.papilio (squared pot and "saucer" respectively
    "MELUSINE" (the genuine)
    "PapDon1"
    Eucharis x amazonica
    H.papilio x "Exotic Star" (balcony box)

• haweha
    12 years ago

1)Temperature range (during summer = same temperatures for AIR and Substrate) 20 TO 25 degree CELSIUS