Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indiana_matt

My Seedlings

indiana_matt
9 years ago

This is my first attempt at hybridization and so far, everything has worked perfectly. These seedlings are from 'Red Lion' x 'White Christmas' ('Red Lion' is the mother). Each plant is just starting to get it's 3rd leaf.

Any recommendations on what I should do next and how to keep them over the winter?
We have cold winters in Indiana, so they will be in the house during the winter.

Thanks,
Matthew
Indiana.Matt

Comments (15)

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    9 years ago

Matt,

Aside from the fact that you have way too many in that pot, they look very good!

If you thought it would be feasible, I would try and cut that pot's contents into at least 4 clumps and re-pot in separate pots. You don't have to pull them all apart, that would only further disturb them as they are still quite small.

I would bring them in the house for the long winter and treat them to a window ledge with several hours of sun daily. As I have so many seedlings myself, most of mine end up under grow lights down stairs and they remain evergreen and growing this way for several years until you see some that are ready to be potted up separately.

They probably won't all grow at the same rate but there are usually some superior seedlings and those are the ones you want to keep your eyes on. I feed with a very dilute strength liquid fertilizer just about each time I water them. This is just my opinion and what I would do if they were mineâºâºâº...Donna

• indiana_matt
    Original Author
    9 years ago

That was what I was thinking Donna...thanks...looking forward to what others have to say.

Matthew
    Indiana.Matt

• kaboehm (zone 9a, TX USA)
    9 years ago

I agree with Donna's advice.
    K

• oleg9grower
    9 years ago

I also fully agree with Donna. And I do too.

This post was edited by oleg9grower on Sun, Jul 27, 14 at 18:03

• dbarron
    9 years ago