Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leftynh6

re-potting amaryllis

leftynh6
10 years ago

I live in a retirement facility
Last Christmas season when I announced that I was going to try to keep my amaryllis over for next year I found 8 other orphans out side my door. In mid May I placed them in my small assigned flowerbed. Sept. 6th I lifted them, drenched them with Malathion and then with Wilt Pruff. They have been a wine cooler @ 50deg. F. ever since.

How long do they need to be there to achieve dormancy?

How many weeks from cooler to bloom?

Obviously I am a novice, AT 80 yr., so any help will be appreciated.

Comments (12)

• kaboehm (zone 9a, TX USA)
    10 years ago

4-6 weeks of cool and dark should be enough to trick them into blooming. I would make sure that the cooler is open to allow for good airflow (avoid mold, etc). Why the Wilt Pruff (not familiar with that)?

Once that time in the cooler has passed and they are planted (I'd think now might be ok) you should see signs of scapes shortly and blooms (with/or without leaves) by Thanksgiving or the December holidays. Blooms within 4-6 weeks...guesstimate!

GOOD LUCK!
    K

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    10 years ago

Hi Lefty,

I'm not sure if the effects of Wilt Pruf will be kind or detrimental as Wilt Pruf's purpose is to lock in moisture and keep leaves from desiccation during the winter. Sprayed on a bulb It might work just fine or might cause mold to form from the inside out. Please let us know how you make out with this experiment.

You've done a good deed in rescuing all those bulbs and you might want to think about re-gifting them back to the folks who gave them to you in the first place as they're likely to end up with another for the holidays anyway and next year you'll end up with 16!! Good Luck!!

Donna

• leftynh6
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi dondeldux / kabohem,