Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
socalgal_gw

Virus testing results

This is my beautiful patch of red Hippeastrum hybrids, photographed last spring. I recently saw leaves that looked like those pictured in other threads on disease, and suspected a virus. However, I'm a scientist and didn't want to just rip out my plants without knowing what was going on. Plus, if I have a virus in my yard I want to know which one and how it is transmitted so I can protect other plants.

{{gwi:430182}}
This is the leaf with suspected viral symptoms that I sent to Agdia for testing (Agdia has been very helpful). All the leaves in the patch now look similar to this:

{{gwi:430183}}
{{gwi:430184}}
I had it tested by ELISA for the potyvirus group (which would detect Hippeastrum Mosaic Virus and Sunflower Mosaic virus), Tobacco Mosaic Virus, Cucumber Mosaic Virus and Tobacco Spotted Wilt Virus. These are the viruses that, per sources on the internet, could infect Hippeastrum. All four tests came up NEGATIVE. Glad I didn't just dig the bulbs up. However, I noticed my alpine strawberries (fragaria vesca) that are right next to the Hippeastrum (see top picture, lower right corner) also have mosaic patterns on their leaves.

{{gwi:430185}}
Fragaria vesca is susceptible to a multitude of viruses and is used as an indicator plant because it is easy to infect and shows viral symptoms readily. I could have used the same pruning shears on both plants when removing dead leaves (I have now started to disinfect my shears between plants). Maybe the hippis caught something new from the strawberries. So next week I am going to send samples of both plants to the University of Minnesota for viral analysis by electron microscopy. Electron microscopy is less specific (may not tell me exactly which virus) but one test can look for numerous types of virus. I'll post those results when available.

Ruth

Comments (23)

• joshy46013
    13 years ago

Ruth,